Search
Filters
Close
RSS

Beatles 50th Blog

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 23, 1965 (Friday)

The UK releases the single "Help!/I'm Down" 50 years ago today.

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 22, 1965 (Thursday)

Day of rest for the Beatles

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 21, 1965 (Wednesday)

Day of rest for the Beatles. 

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 20, 1965 (Tuesday)

Day of rest for the Beatles

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 19, 1965 (Monday)

The Beatles song "Help!/I'm Down" was released in the United States. This is a different version than the album version because it is mono and has a different Lennon vocal. 

 

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 18, 1965 (Sunday)

Day of rest for the Beatles. 

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 17, 1965 (Saturday)

Beatles album "VI" is on the Billboard list of number one albums for 1965. This is the second week in a row. 

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 16, 1965 (Friday)

Day of rest for the Beatles today. 

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 15, 1965 (Thursday)

Day of rest for the Beatles

The Beatles 50 Years Ago Today: July 14, 1965 (Wednesday)

The term "plastic soul" can be heard by Paul using the phrase on the compuliation album The Beatles Anthology 2, after the the first take of "I'm Down" which they recorded on July 14, 1965, and was probably inspired by Little Richards. "Plastic soul, man, plastic soul," he says. The Beatles had been kicking around different ideas for the title, and then settles on it after their photographer, Robert Freeman, inadvertently created an elastic effect on one of their photos he projected it onto a 12' x 12' peice of cardboard. 

Source: Beatles Vs. Stones by John McMillian